Espino awards cash incentives to winners


LINGAYEN—For a job well done, Gov. Amado Espino III congratulated and distributed cash incentives on top of the usual trophies awarded to winners in the recently concluded 2nd Governor’s Cup Inter Town/City Basketball Tournament.

Team Lingayen, this season’s champion, received ₱250,000, runners-up Manaoag (₱150,000), Urdaneta City (₱100,000) and Binmaley (₱75,000).

Reiterating his call for every athlete to practice the virtue of “respect,” the governor noted that the participating cagers have earned popularity and urged the players to serve as role models in their communities.

Meanwhile, Espino announced he was thinking of adopting a new format in the next basketball tournament, particularly holding matches in more towns and cities.

Marven Jophet Mamaril of Lingayen team was voted the tournament’s Most Valuable Player and received ₱10,000.

Other winners that received cash incentives: 3-point shootout: champion (₱7,000,1st runer-up (P5,000), 2nd runner-up (₱3,000): Chuck T. Barcelona (Urdaneta City) champion, Mark D. Melendez (Binmaley) 1st runner-up  Roxar D. Melendez (Binmaley) 2nd runner-up. Slam Dunk Contest – Champion: Rhenz Joseph M. Abando (Urdaneta City), Brayan L. Rosalin (Manaoag) 1st runner-up, Denver A. Suratos, 2nd runner-up.

Mythical Five (each player received ₱5,000) –  Manny Santos (Manaoag)- Point Guard, Marven Jophet J. Mamaril (Lingayen) – Off Guard, Aldrin DG. Serafica (Manaoag)- Center, Roxar D. Melendez (Binmaley) – Power Forward, Chuck T. Barcelona (Urdaneta City) – Forward.

Winners by conference: Champion (₱30,000), 1st runner-up (₱20,000), 2nd runner-up (₱15,000), 3rd runner-up (₱10,000) CENTRAL CONFERENCE – Champion: Binmaley, 1st runner-up: Calasiao, 2nd runner-up: Mangatarem, 3rd runner-up: Bayambang.  EASTERN CONFERENCE – Champion: Tayug, 1st runner-up: Urdaneta City, 2nd runner-up: Balungao, 3rd runner-up: Umingan. NORTHERN CONFERENCE – Champion: Bautista, 1st runner-up: Manaoag, 2nd runner-up: Mangaldan, 3rd runner-up: Pozorrubio. WESTERN CONFERENCE – Champion: Lingayen, 1st runner-up: Sual, 2nd runner-up: Alaminos City, 3rd runner-up: Bolinao.  (PIO)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments