The PUNCH’s Willie Lomibao wins anew

By August 2, 2021People & Events


THE Sunday PUNCH’s photo journalist, Wilfredo Lomibao, won the Tobacco Photo of the Year award category of the 14th Bright Leaf Agriculture Journalism Awards for his “Ocean of Gold Leaves” photo depicting a farmer drying tobacco leaves in Alcala town.


Going on its 14th year, the Bright Leaf Awards recognized the exceptional journalists anew who spotlight the agricultural sector through online, print, radio, and television last July 28, 2021, for the first time during a virtual ceremony hosted by veteran host James Deakin.

More than 600 entries competed for the chance to be called the best of the best in this annual competition.

“This year’s theme, ‘Reimagining our tomorrow’ is very apt for us, at PMFTC and the Bright Leaf community. Our agility to adapt and pivot were tested in this unprecedented global crisis,” said PMFTC president Denis Gorkun.

Prioritizing health and safety this year, the media professionals from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao, including Metro Manila-based joined the virtual roadshows via Facebook Live or the Zoom platform.

Louise Maureen Simeon of the Philippine Star brought home the Agriculture Story of the Year with her piece, “A year into tariffication, farmers feel worse off”

For the Tobacco Story of the Year award, Business Mirror’s Cai Ordinario was judged winner for her article “Gold leaf farming sector still searching for own El Dorado.” She also won the award for the Best Agriculture News Story, National for “Pre and Post-Rice Trade liberalization law, big traders gaming farmer groups”

Business Mirror’s Erwin Mascariñas was named winner for Agriculture Photo of the Year for “Fish Drying” while Baguio journalist, Frank Cimatu took home two awards for articles: “How not to be dumped in February: Notes on tomato dumping,” for the Best Agriculture Feature Story, Regional. And “Philippine tobacco industry may also produce our first aid COVID-19 Vaccine,” this year’s winner for the Best Story in Tobacco Product Alternatives.

Other winners were GMA Channel 7 blocktimer program Agriprenuer as Best Agriculture TV Program or Segment, Rose Malekchan of DZWT 540 Radyo Totoo, winner of Best Agriculture Radio Program, Karl Angelica R. Ocampo for Best Agriculture Feature Story, National, Erwin Nicavera of Sunstar Bacolod for  Best Agriculture News Story Regional, Vina Medenilla of of Manila Bulletin for  The Best Online Story award, and  Jasper Emmanuel Arcalas as Oriental Leaf Award winner and joins the prestigious Bright Leaf Hall of Fame with other previous outstanding awardees.

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments