Pasalo wins grand prize in international prose tilt

By July 12, 2021People & Events

A COLUMN item in G Spot by Sunday Punch columnist Virginia J. Pasalo entitled “Landing an Airplane in a Forest of Fireflies” recently won first prize in the Prose Category of the First Annual Competition of the Fundación Internacional de Literatura (Cuba-Holanda).

The article was published in The PUNCH’s July 27, 2015 issue.

The theme of the competition is about “Mourning”.


The complete list of winners are: Prose:  1st:  Virginia Jasmin Pasalo (Philippines), 2nd: Santosh Bakaya (India). Poetry: 1st : Yuray Tolentino Hevia (Cuba), 2nd:: Elizabeth Reinosa Aliaga (Cuba).

 Pasalo, Commissioner of the Pangasinan Historical and Cultural Commission (PHCC), and a weekly columnist of the Sunday Punch, is concurrently the Executive Director of the International Visitor Leadership Program- Philippines (IVLP-Philippines) and an Executive Trustee of the Women in Development (WID Foundation. She is an environmentalist, a gardener and a poet.

 Marian Eikelhof, Director of the Foundation, said “it was not the form that was most important in which the material was presented, but the essence consisted of the emotional appeal of the story.”

 The Board of Judges was composed of distinguished poets and writers: Alberto Guerra Guerra Naranjo (Cuba), Clara Lecuona Varela (Cuba) also in the management of the Foundation; Obediah Michael Smith (Bahamas) and Marian Eikelhof (Netherlands).

 Fundación Internacional de Literatura (Cuba-Holanda) promotes intercultural exchange and introduces the various artistic expressions. By joining forces internationally, the goal seeks to strengthen the world peace process, build symbolic bridges of mutual understanding, and build a network of intellectuals and artists who defend humanity.

Selected writers for the anthology about mourning in honor of Theo Eikelhof were:  Iliana Aleida Pérez Raimundo (Cuba), Sandra R. Cabrera (Cuba), Kishan Dahal (India), Jeiddy Martinez Armas (Cuba), Jonathan Rivéro Méndez (Cuba), Chaitali Sengupta (Netherlands), Javier Pérez Rizo (Cuba), Osmari Reyes García (Cuba), Androulla Shati (Cyprus), Nancy Ndeke (Kenya), Gianluca Regondi (Italy), Alberto Rodríguez Rodríguez (Cuba),  Dunia Machado Santos(Cuba), Graciela Brown (Argentina), Biswarup Sinha Roy (India), Manuel Eduardo Jiménez Mendoza (Cuba), Eduardo Rodríguez Martínez (Cuba) and Eric Michel Villavicencio Reyes (Cuba).  (Contributed by FIDL)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments