MBTF elected Region 1 chairman

By July 24, 2022Top Stories


DAGUPAN City Mayor Belen Fernandez is the new Region 1 chairman of the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP).

She was elected on July 21 during the 69th General Assembly and Election of Officers at the Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria in Quezon City.

Interior and Local Government Secretary Benhur Abalos inducted the new set of LCP officers led by Michael Rama of Cebu (president), and Mayor Alfredo “Albee” Benitez of Bacolod City (chairman).

Like Mayor Fernandez, Benitez  is a respected entrepreneur-politician in his city.
Both Benitez and Fernandez won by an overwhelming majority over their respective rivals on the platform of change and restoration of public trust, accountability, transparency and graft-free government.

The LCP General Assembly coincided with the two-day Newly Elected Officials (NEO) Orientation  Course for  Primed Leaders for  Renewed Local Governance, also held on the same venue, which also Fernandez attended.

The NEO course was conducted by the DILG-Local Government Academy, in cooperation with the LCP and hosted by Governance Regional Resource  Center-National Capital Region.

The activity provided the NEOs with a foundational and critical understanding of the organizational, political and constitutional environment of public service at the local level. (Leonardo Micua)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments