2,067 persons refused entry to Pangasinan

By May 10, 2021Headlines


THERE have been 2,067 persons that were denied entry into Pangasinan from March 29 to May 2 consistent with an IATF resolution, the Pangasinan Police Provincial Office (PPPO) reported.

P/Lt. Colonel Brendon Palisoc, police deputy provincial director for operations, revealed that those turned back to where they came from, were unable to prove to policemen manning border control points that their travels to Pangasinan were considered essential.

The strict border control protocol was ordered by Gov. Amado Espino III since the National Capital Region+ Bubble was placed under Enhanced Community Quarantine and even after its classification was downgraded to Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine to prevent undocumented travelers who may be carriers of unwanted COVID-19 variants to Pangasinan.

Palisoc told the Sangguniang Panlalawigan during its session on May 3 that based on the protocol, even Authorized Persons Outside of Residence (APORs) from the NCR+ will not be allowed entry into Pangasinan if they cannot justify that their travel to the province was essential.

Palisoc admitted that the police are already implementing the “S” pass code for travelers from outside Pangasinan on a limited scale but according to the provincial IATF, this is still in transition as 17 municipalities are still about to be linked to it.

According to Palisoc, there are 20 border control points in Pangasinan, classified into regional and provincial control points.

Palisoc further clarified that medical health workers, so the nature of work, are classified as APORs but mere presentation of identification cards identifying them as health workers is enough proof that their entry into Pangasinan is essential.

According to Palisoc, the APORs need not secure an “S” pass that can be accessed online, an application that can determine if the travelers are APORs and added the mere presentation of IDs could prove that their travel is essential.

Meanwhile, Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Officer Rhodyn Luchinvar Oro, clarified the “S” pass required of all travelers from outside Pangasinan was not initiated by the province but was embodied in IATF Resolution 101.

According to Oro, the “S” pass is some sort of the “Go” authority for anyone who wants to enter Pangasinan but one is still required to present essential documents to prove their travel is essential and authorized. (Leonardo Micua)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments