Lingayen’s Cruz wins in 2 categories

By January 5, 2021News, Sports


EIVAN Jacob Cruz from Lingayen won both the Traditional and Chess960 Categories of the 1st Governor Amado I. Espino III On-line Chess Tournament held from November 20 to December 20 participated in by local non-titled players, aged 15 years old and up played via Lichess website, a free online chess server.

Other winners in the Traditional Category were: Marlon Mortel (Bolinao), 2nd place; Antonio III Almodal (Villasis), 3rd;  Charles Casipit (Dagupan City), 4th; Brylle Gever Vinluan (San Fabian), 5th; Rodney Palaming (Urdaneta City), 6th; Louis Phillip Querol (Dagupan City), 7th; Celso De Guzman (San Fabian), 8th; Russwell Mari Fernandez (Dagupan City), 9th; and Sidney Plastina from (Asingan), 10th.

Other winners in the Chess960 Category were:: Brylle Gever Vinluan (San Fabian), 2nd place; Allan Frianeza (Dagupan City), 3rd; Rodney Palaming (Urdaneta City), 4th; Ormilito Ordizo (Alaminos City), 5th; Mia Antoinette Diaz (Bautista), 6th; Antonio III Almodal (Villasis), 7th;, Austin Lopez Ferescel (Alcala), 8th; Russell Mari Fernandez (Dagupan City), 9th; and Sidney Plastina (Asingan), 10th.

The winners were feted by the provincial government last December 28 during the awarding ceremony of the 1st Governor Amado I. Espino III On-line Chess Tournament on December 28 held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) Admin Building.

“Sana maging inspirasyon kayo ng mga kabataan at mga kasamahan niyo.” said Provincial Sports Development and Management Council (PSDMC) Executive Officer Modesto M. Operania.

“Nagpapasalamat po ako sa ganitong programa. Sana po patuloy po nilang gawin para mas marami pa po ang ma-enhance ang kanilang talent kahit na mayroon pong pandemic,” said Cruz after receiving his prize.

The online chess tournament is a project of Governor Espino in partnership with the Pangasinan Chess League (PCL) to enhance the skills of young chessers in the province while observing safety protocols against COVID-19. (PIO/DAT)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments