PNHS Alumni, USA holds 7th Biennial Grand Reunion

By September 24, 2018News, Overseas, Punch Gallery

LAS VEGAS, NV – The Pangasinan Provincial National High School Alumni, USA (PPNHS) held its 2018 7th Biennial Grand Reunion August 31 -September 2 in this city, with a standing room only attendance at the Westgate Resort Hotel & Casino. The 3-day event hosted by Class 1967 was chaired by Teresita Quitlong with Virginia Panoringan-Cantillo as treasurer. Members of the Executive Committee include Rose Yanes-Sacks, Sally Dalisay-De Guzman, Sergio Ignacio and Elizabeth Hilario-Sison.


Founded in late 2005 by respected community leader and retired San Francisco Bay Area business executive, Mario Cendana-Panoringan (Class 1965), PPNHS Alumni, USA held its first Biennial Grand Reunion in San Francisco, California on a Labor Day weekend in 2006, with close to 300 alumni and their guests in attendance. The alumni group was established to serve as a link among its graduates and preserve the legacy of their alma mater, formerly Pangasinan Provincial High School and now Pangasinan National High School. It also helps the school thru worthy projects for the benefit of students and the school.

Among the projects delivered were 2008 Adopt A Classroom Project (10 classrooms led by Classes 1965 and 1967 with 3 classrooms each, 1 classroom each by Classes 1966, 1969 and 1970), renovation of the Medical Dental Clinic, donation of 20 benches along the Lingayen Baywalk, conducted Medical and Dental Missions, major sponsorship of the photo exhibit at the Agew Na Pangasinan Celebration (2017-2018), donation of books for the Provincial Library, major sponsorship of the School Feeding Program, renovation of the Home Economics Building by Class 1958, Guidance Counseling Center by Class 1963 and Teachers’ Lounge by Class 1985.


This year’s Biennial Grand Reunion brought more than 300 alumni from Aruba, Australia, Canada, England, Philippines and the United States. They took part in the 3-day celebration attending the Friday Meet & Greet and Hosted Cocktail Reception, the Saturday Night Grand Ball & Awards Dinner and the Sunday Fellowship Breakfast. Congressman Leopoldo N. Bataoil (Class 1970) was the inspirational speaker. A special video presentation titled “Through the Years” produced by Jovito Viray-Macam, was featured during the evening’s program.

The Mario Cendana-Panoringan Founding Chairman’s Perpetual Trophy for largest attendance was presented to Class 1975. The Largest First Timers Award. special recognitions were given to Juanita Mangasi-Samiley (Class 1959), Lifetime Achievement Award, while Virginia Panoringan-Cantillo was presented with glass trophy by the hosting Class of 1967, for her leadership role as an outstanding alumnae and teacher of Pangasinan Provincial National High School. Other awards recipients were Linda Hilario (Class 1955) Most Senior Alumni; Jolly Juan Santos-Diaz (Class 2014) Youngest Alumni; Jovito Macam-Viray (Class 1970) and Fely Quitevis (Class 1962) Founding Chairman’s Plaque of Appreciation.

The Founding Chairman’s Medallions and Certificates of Appreciation for their continued support of the Alumni, USA were presented to: Rose Yanes-Sacks, Sergio Ignacio, Sally Dalisay-De Guzman, Elizabeth Hilario-Sison (all Class 1967), Myrna Sison-Guiang and Bert Velasco of Class 1963, Ben and Angelina Sison-Biag (Class 1965), Benjamin Tendilla (Class 1968), George Mata (Class 1970), Faustino Sino Cruz, Jr., (Class 1971), Yolanda Ong-Ramos and Janice De Guzman-Rosales (Class 1972), Melva Evangelista-Valdez and Arnold Galvez (Class 1975), Badette Pua and Gerry Gajeton (Class 1979) and Blas Tiangson  (Class 1989). Presented the Friends of the Alumni, USA recognized for their support were Lydia Morales-Bautista, Mary Ann Verdeflor-Macam, Lito Ramos-Cantillo and Jess Burguillos.

The 8th Biennial Grand Reunion will be held in Lingayen, Pangasinan February 17-23, 2020 with business executive Yolanda Ong-Ramos (Class 1972) Atty. Melva Evangelista-Valdez (Class 1975) and Atty. Verna Nava-Perez (Class 1985) serving as Executive Co-Chairpersons. Founding Chairman Mario Cendana-Panoringan will serve as Adviser.

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments