Ope Reyna elected NGO federation president

By August 10, 2013News, People & Events

OFFICERS of non-government and civil society organizations in Dagupan City unanimously elected Atty. Liberato C. Reyna, Jr. to head their newly organized federation during elections held August 5, 2013.

Reyna is currently president of the Dagupan City National High School (DCNHS) Alumni Association and chairman of the board of the University of Luzon.

His election followed an orientation conducted by Department of Interior and Local Government local operations chief Rhoderick Dawis on the mechanics of accrediting of non-government and civil society organizations for representation and membership in the Local Development Council and in special boards of the city government.

According to Reyna, the group will formally register its name as Federation of Civic Groups and NGOs of Dagupan City.

The orientation and election was presided by Councilor Marvin V. Fabia, chairman on non-government and civil society affairs.

“The non-government and civil society organizations are already engaged in development activities so they should be allowed to participate as members of the Local Development Council that prioritizes programs to benefit the residents and communities, ” said Reyna.

He added that the creation of the federation and eventual accreditation will encourage these groups to help in the initiative of Mayor Belen Fernandez for a “Balon Dagupan”.

Aside from Reyna, the elected members of the Dagupan City federation of civil society and non-government organizations are: Atty. Cornelia Español, (Senior Citizen’s Federation), vice president; Atty. Lemuel Astadan, (Private Schools Principals League), secretary; Dr. Vivencio Villaflor Jr. (Rotary Club of Dagupan City), treasurer; PICPA (Philippine Institute of CPA, Pangasinan Chapter, auditor.

The board of directors are Dr. Arlene Sanchez (Inner Wheel Club of Dagupan City), Dr. Vicente Bernardo (Rotary Club of Dagupan East), Lina Tan (Liwawa ed Asinan Foundation – LEAF), Josephine De Vera (Kampi Katipunan ng me Kapansanan sa Pilipinas), Oliver Joseph Paseral (Ulupan na Sumisigay ed Dagupan), Christopher Blancaflor (Rotary Club of Dagupan East), Mangontawar Sultan (Dagupan Advisory Council of Muslim Leaders), Windy B. Bernardo (InnerWheel Club of Dagupan East), Manny Roy (Centromart Multipurpose Cooperative), and Manuel Lingayor (Federation of Accredited Tricycle Organizations in Dagupan City).

Back to Homepage

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments