Basista declared drug-free town


THE town of Basista has been added to the list of drug-cleared cities and municipalities in Pangasinan per declaration of the regional sub-committee led by PDEA in Pangasinan.

According to P/Colonel Redrico A. Maranan, police rovincial director, the other towns already declared drug-free are Laoac, Dasol, Mapandan, Natividad, Anda, Mabini, Alcala, Malasiqui, Burgos, Sta. Maria, Sison, Aguilar, Bugallon, Lingayen, Bayambang, Mangatarem, Rosales, Labrador, Calasiao, Villasis, San Manuel, Sta. Barbara, Mangaldan, Urbiztondo, Tayug, Alaminos City, Sto. Tomas town has been drug-free.

Meanwhile, 13 municipalities are awaiting the approval of the Regional Sub-committee.

These are the towns of Infanta, Binmaley, Balungao, Pozorrubio, Asingan, Sual, Manaoag, San Fabian, Umingan, Bolinao, Bani, San Carlos City and the town of San Nicolas.

Five towns were reverted as drug-affected: Binalonan, Agno, Bautista, San Jacinto and Urdaneta City. The towns of San Quintin and Dagupan City are awaiting documentary requirements to be submitted to the Philippine Drug Enforcement Unit.

At least 171 of 1, 330 barangays in the province remain drug-affected.

Meanwhile in the war vs. drugs, the Pangasinan Police Provincial Office is set to further intensify its campaign by employing Narcotic Detection Dogs (NDD) to further curb the proliferation of illicit drugs in Pangasinan.

Maranan said this is in addition to the installation of CCTVs and biometric scanners in strategic areas to prevent possible illegal drug trading.

Continuous drug testing is targeted at local government officials.

He said the drug supply in Pangasinan has been constricted based on their investigation and monitored the drug route came from Region 3, Region 4A and NCR. More shabu and marijuana were intercepted and seized in the province over the past months. (Nora Dominguez)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments