LGU P’sinan execs, rank and file employees receive civil service awards


EXTRAORDINARY act or behavior, project efficiency and effectiveness. These were the criteria set by the Civil Service Commission (CSC) which were successfully delivered by the awardees in the 2019 CSC Regional Recognition and Awards on September 12.

Among the recipients during the 2019 Regional Recognition and Awards Rites held on September 12 at Diego Silang Hall, Provincial Capitol of La Union, were Provincial Planning and Development Officer Benita Pizarro, Eastern Pangasinan District Hospital chief David Ben E. Gurion, and Provincial Governor’s Office Administrative Division headed by chief administrative officer Irmina B. Francisco and four staff. Other nominees include Provincial Employment Services Office chief Alex Ferrer and two rank and file employees.

It can be recalled that the provincial government under the Espino administration through the Human Resources Management and Development Office (HRMDO) is annually conferring awards/citations to heads of office/chiefs of hospital and rank and file employees on February each year. The provincial chief executive then endorsed the awardees as the province’s entry to the regional search.

The nominations of Mrs. Pizarro, Dr. Gurion and Mr. Ferrer to the regional level came as a result of their efficient and effective development management in their respective offices. Ferrer received the Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award while Pizarro and Gurion were awarded with CSC PAGASA Award each.

In the case of the provincial government’s administrative division led by Dr. Francisco, the award that the team bagged is attributed to the division’s systematized and organized records management as well as the Governor’s Excellence Awards on Academics and Leadership. Thus, the members of the team to include Mario F. Enrique, Jennifer D. Cruz, Isaac F. Bernardo and Christine Ann Margaret Z. Calimlim won the nod of the regional evaluators and bagged the CSC Pagasa Award.

Two other rank and file employees—Henry E. Cruz and Jonah James Caoile— who were nominated for Dangal ng Bayan Award for their performance of extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior on the basis of the employee’s observation of the eight norms of conduct under Republic Act No. 6713 or the Code of Conduct and the Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.

Caoile, a security guard, performed an extraordinary act while on duty last December 25, 2018 responded to a snatching incident that transpired at the vicinity of Palaris building which is located at the Capitol complex. Cruz, on the other hand, manifested exemplary behavior that led to remarkable client satisfaction rating.

Such acts were commended by CSC Commissioner Aileen Lourdes A. Lizada, who personally led the awarding rites.

In expressing her commendation, the CSC commissioner noted that a good civil servant must give his/her best shot even without any reward or merit. “Those who worked in silence are best honored loudly,” she said.

Furthermore, Commissioner Lizada cited that public workers are the gems and treasures of the bureaucracy. Hence, quality service or exemplary service are expected to be performed by those working for the government. (Ruby R. Bernardino)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments