Pangasinan receives Hall of Fame award


THE provincial government led by Governor Amado I. Espino, III received the Hall of Fame award from the Department of Agriculture in recognition of its feat winning the Quality Corn Achievers Award for three consecutive years in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

The event, keynoted by Senator Cynthia Villar, was held on November 15 in Davao City.

As a Hall of Fame awardee, the province received a P5 million cash prize which, according to Espino, will be used to further boost the corn industry in the province to ensure continued bountiful harvest by corn farmers.

Two other towns in Pangasinan were conferred with the Quality Corn Achievers award, namely: Sto. Tomas and Alcala, also now a Hall of Fame awardee.

The other provinces that also received the Achievers’ Awards were: Zamboanga del Sur (Hall of Fame), Cagayan, Agusan del Sur and Bukidnon.

Espino was joined at the awards ceremony by Board Member Liberato Z. Villegas, committee chairman on Agriculture and Agrarian Reform and Provincial Agriculturist Dalisay Moya, also a recipient of the Hall of Fame Award as an outstanding Provincial Agriculturist.

Other awardees from Pangasinan are: Venancio B. Valeroso, Hall of Fame awardee as  “Outstanding Provincial Corn Coordinator”;  Chrisanto G. Balila (Sto. Tomas)  Edgardo G. Tugas (Hall of Fame, Alcala) as “Outstanding Municipal/City Agriculturists”; Ramil R. Bustamante (Sto. Tomas), Elizabeth B. Tubera (Hall of Fame, Alcala) as “Outstanding  Municipal/City Corn Coordinators”; Johnathan D. Dominguez (Hall of Fame, San Nicolas), Zosima G. Belmonte (San Quintin), Alicia S. Noche (Sta. Barbara ) Enrique J. Manaois, Jr. (Balungao,) as “Outstanding Agricultural Extension Workers”.

Pangasinan earlier bagged the Hall of Fame Rice Achievers Award in 2015 after successively winning the national contest in years 2012, 2013 and 2014. (PIO)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments