Lingayen bags 2nd Gov’s Cup Inter-Town

LINGAYEN—Team Lingayen’s strategy piled up a 25-point advantage, 117-92, over Team Manaoag to bag the coveted championship crown of the 2nd Governor’s Cup Inter-Town/City Basketball Tournament on April 21 at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) gymnasium.

The Lingayen cagers, boosted by the cheers of the local residents, performed like clockwork in their do-or-die match.

Team Lingayen shows the way how to win a championship game. (Punchphoto by Willie Lomibao)

Lingayen won the first game of the best-of-three series while Manaoag retaliated with a victory in the second game.

The final match, however, was a redemption for the failed performance in the second game of Lingayen cagers, Marven Jophet Mamaril (#8), Jessie Mark Artates (#16), Mark Kenneth Castillo (#2), Ramil Mendoza (#13), Jeremy Casaclang (#11), Michael Brian Romero (#10), and Manuelito Arias (#17).

It was Team Lingayen’s three-pointer by Mamaril, a few steps from midcourt at the start of the game, that foretold of what was to happen because it subsequently dictated the lopsided game.

Shots continued to fall into the basket with two-pointers by Mendoza and Artates that left Manaoag scoreless for 7 minutes and 21 seconds in the first canto. First quarter ended favoring Lingayen by 13 points, 28-15.

In the second quarter, Lingayen padded its lead by 26 points, 61-35, while the third quarter again went in their favor via 21-point advantage, 84-63.

In the final quarter, Lingayen’s lead was slowly trimmed by Manaoag’s ace player Manny Santos who sizzled with consecutive three-pointers. But as the only bright spot of Manaoag, he failed to lead his team to take the upperhand.

Gov. Amado I. Espino III, who personally watched the match together with Pangasinan First Lady Karina P. Espino and son Amado IV, awarded the trophy to the champion team and the 2nd best team, after the game.

In a message before the start of the game, Espino commended all the players and coaches for putting their best foot forward in making the second edition of the basketball tournament again a success.

Meanwhile, Lingayen coach Jayson Vinluan thanked the governor for launching the project and commended the provincial government for opening doors of opportunity for potential professional Pangasinan cagers.

Team Lingayen is composed of players Mark Lester Castillo, Mark Kenneth Castillo, Anthony Sareno, Marvin Mamaril, Christopher Santos, Michael Romero, Jeremy Casaclang, Michael Castro, Ramil Mendoza, Jessie Artates, Manuelito Arias, Larry Raoet, Calvin Enrique, head coach Jayson Vinluan, assistant coach Jude Sison, and manager Vice Mayor John Tapia.

Awarding ceremony and the announcement of the Most Valuable Player and Mythical Five will be on April 29, at 3 p.m. at the NRSCC gymnasium. (PIO/RRB)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments