Mangatarem, Umingan win ‘Balitok A Tawir’ folkdance competition


LINGAYEN – Mangatarem National High School (MNHS) and Umingan Central Elementary School (UCES) topped the secondary and elementary divisions of this year’s “Balitok a Tawir” folkdance competition (Pangasinan Culture and Arts Festival).

                  Governor Amado I. Espino, III, along with 4th district Board Member Jeremy Agerico Rosario, who chairs Sangguniang Panlalawigan committee on education; Senior Tourism Operations Officer Marife Acerit and Pangasinan Folkdance Society president Childe Libertad, awarded trophies and cash prizes to the top three winners in each division during the closing ceremony of the folkdance competition held at the Sison Auditorium on February 2.

Extending his gratitude to the Department of Education (DepEd), school administrations, and the parents of the participants for supporting the Balitok folkdance competition, Governor Espino vowed to expand the cultural programs of the provincial government which gained prominence during the administration of former Pangasinan governor and now 5th district Representative Amado T. Espino, Jr.

“Let us triple our efforts to imbibe to the young generation the value of discipline, and respect,” Governor Espino appealed to the educators and parents, as he hoped that the folkdance competition will have a significant impact not only in reawakening cultural sensitivities of Pangasinenses, but also in developing good personality of the young generation.

Runners-up in secondary division were Mangaldan National High School, and Cipriano P. Primicias National High School – Alcala while elementary division runners-up were Manaoag Central School SPED Center (MCSSC), and Lanapin Elementary School – Urdaneta City.

MNHS, a back-to-back champion of Balitok folkdance competition, amassed all special awards which include: best in costume, best in choreography, and best performance of choice piece Panangabalayan.

UCES, on the other hand, was adjudged best in choreography and best performance of choice piece Pampilpilalekan. MCSSC was best in costume.

Thirteen elementary schools and 13 secondary schools from Pangasinan-based schools divisions of DepEd took part in the folkdance competition. The contingents presented their choice piece of folkdance with Pangasinan-Ilokano origin, and the contest piece Pasikat na Baso (for secondary) and Purpuri (for elementary).

Pasikat na Baso is a very colorful and spectacular skill dance which originated from the barrios of Pangasinan; pasikat means ‘to show off’ and baso means ‘drinking glass’. Puripuri, on the other hand, is an Ilokano dance which is classified as a social dance among the Christian people living in the lowlands.

Top three winners bagged home cash prizes amounting to Php35,000, champion; Php25,000, 1st runner-up, and Php15,000, 2nd runner-up for elementary division while secondary division winners went home with Php50,000, champion; Php30,000, 1st runner-up; and Php20,000, 2nd runner-up.

The non-winning contingents which received a plaque of recognition and a Php20,000 consolation prize each, include : (elementary division) Bayambang Central I School, Manat Elementary School – Binmaley, Magsaysay Elementary School – Lingayen, Torres-Bugallon Elementary School – Bugallon; Casafernandoan Elementary School – Pozorrubio, Sto. Tomas district Elementary School, Mangaldan I Central School; Alcala district Elementary School, Central 1 Elementary School – San Carlos City, and Caoayan Killing Elementary School – San Carlos City; and (secondary division) Pangasinan National High School, Don Gaudencio V Dumlao National High School – Aguilar, Luciano Millan National High School – Asingan, Manaoag National High School, Alaminos City National High School; Dagupan City National High School, East Central Integrated School – Dagupan City, Bonuan Boquig National High School – Dagupan City; and Turac National High School – San Carlos City, and Speaker Eugenio Perez Agricultural National High School – San Carlos City. /Mark Gerry Naval Oblanca

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments