Torio, 34 others win in 1st Duathlon

LINGAYEN– Raymond Torio emerged as the overall champion in the 1st Duathlon in Pangasinan.

“Every athlete in this race is already a victor in your show of love for multi-sports races through discipline, strength, endurance, and sportsmanship but most of all, you are all a victor for choosing the Provincial Government of Pangasinan as a partner in this event.”

Pangasinan Sports Development and Management Council (PSDMC) Executive Officer Modesto Operania said during the 1st Pangasinan Duathlon Challenge on December 10 held at the Capitol Complex in Lingayen.

The 5km run-45km cycling-5km run duathlon challenge was organized by the Metro Dagupan Cycling Club Inc. (MDCCI) headed by Gerry Lorica in collaboration with the provincial government.

Torio, representing Team Go For Gold, and a native of Lingayen cited the Baywalk and the Capitol grounds as perfect venues for multi-discipline sports like duathlon and triathlon challenges not only because of its landscape but because of the support that Governor Espino extends to aspiring amateur athletes.

The winners (in 1st, 2nd and 3rd runner up) were:

(ALL MEN) 18-24yrs old: Jaypee L. Olarte, Rogelio Visconde, Carl Vincent Gutierrez;

25-29 yrs old: Raymond Torio, Oscar Miguel Mapalo, Abraham Basino; 30-34 yrs old: Robeno Javier, Timoteo Santos, Reagan Nabua;

35-39 yrs old: Ronnel Hualda, Albert Ong, Romeo Milanes; 40-44 yrs old: Wilfredo Carmelo, Peter Sison, Julius Acosta; 45-49 yrs old: Edgar Domingo, Laurentino Belsa, Alex Boras;

50-54 yrs old: John Thomas Gonzales, Loreto Valdez, Joseph Mangaoang; 55-59 yrs old: Dr. Butch Ydia, Butch Almendarez, Lorenzo Picardal Jr; 60 years old and above: Bob Solomon, Rodolfo “Boy” Dion;

WOMEN’S Open: Eisset Liwag, Katherine Asanion, Floyd Genaro;

Relay: MDCCI Team Nhoel Bumanglag and Marcelo Guten Jr., Robert Tandoc and John Ace Ventura, Team Nerbs Franci Villena and Shaine Alvarez;

Folding Bikes: Christian Salva, Elmer Gajeton, Rafel Delos Santos. (PIO/KMJR)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments