Urbiztondo, Urdaneta quintets win championships


TEAMS Urbiztondo and Urdaneta City proved to all that their first game victories were not flukes by winning both their second game in their respective division, in the best-of-three championship series of the First Pangasinan LGU-Unity Games held on August 25 at Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center in Lingayen.

Urbiztondo stifled by Sta. Maria’s defense in the first half to be trailed by four marks, 39-43, delivered the extra muscle in the last two periods with a 32-8 binge in the third quarter alone, led by its town’s chief executive Martin Sison pumping in 11 points of his total 23. Their pace stayed till the fourth and final quarter to score a convincing 95-71 victory and clinched the Division II title.

Meanwhile, Urdaneta City never gave Bugallon a chance to grab the front in all the four quarters, with its four marquee players JayR Elegores, Christian delos Santos, Christopher de Lena and Carlos Sanchez at the helm combining a total of 78 points. Together, they demolished the league’s top seeded Bugallon, 108-95, to capture the Division I tiara in the league to the the delight of Mayor Bobom Perez’s raucous crowd.

“Unity, prayers and hard work with God’s blessing made us win the tourney,” Perez humbly said. (Jesus Garcia, Jr.)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments