Pangasinan 5 clobbers LNU Dukes

FRESH from a victory against the multi-titled University of Luzon Golden Tigers, 78-64, days ago, the composite basketball Team Pangasinan of Gov. Amado Espino lll, scored another convincing victory in a goodwill game on August 16 by clobbering perennial UCAAP champions Lyceum Northwestern University Dukes, 107-70, held at Dukes turf Dr. Salvador T. Duque Gym at Tapuac, Dagupan City.

Team Pangasinan came prepared and started the match with passion, led by Ysmael Sarmiento and Jomar Ordona, taking an early lead 11-5 with 4 minutes and 45 seconds time left in the first quarter.

LNU Dukes tried to break the lead with Suratos and Ayao driving the ball, yet, Melendez and Ballesteros from Pangasinan Team broke Dukes’ momentum with their potent 3-point shots which secured their lead, 44-28, at the end of the second quarter.

It led by mere two points, 17-15, in the first period, bolted to the front at the first half, 44-28, enhanced the lead by 19 in the third, 70-51, pushed on the onslaught in the last and final quarter with its key players, the Melendez brothers Roxar and Mark, Ordona, Sarmiento, Mariano Catabay and Chuck Barcelona doing most of the damage to frustrate the off-form Dukes.

Pangasinan sustained their supremacy setting the score with 21-point advantage against LNU Dukes at the end of the third quarter.

Ordona scored a game high 18 points with Roxar and Sarmiento contributing 13 points apiece while Mark had 12.

Aljick Aquino and Larry John Raoet are the only Dukes’ players who scored in double digits knockingin a team high 12 points apiece.

Team Pangasinan first triumph was in a friendship match against University of Luzon (UL) where it posted a 14-point gap.

​The team is composed of the best players from various teams that participated in the 1st Governor’s Cup Inter-Town Basketball Tournament held at Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center.

​Members of the Team Pangasinan  are: Guards – Marven JophetMamaril (Lingayen), Mark Melendez (Binmaley), Manny Cristobal Santos (Manaoag), and Conrad  Benedict Aquino (Asingan); Forwards – Roxar Melendez (Binmaley), Reynald Ballesteros (Calasiao),  Elegio Agloro Jr, (Alaminos City) Garnet Asuncion, Ismael Sarmiento (Urdaneta City), and Florence Batalla (Urdaneta City); Centers – Christian Paul Cruz (Binmaley), Nico Celino (Alaminos City) Noel Barrozo (Urbiztondo), Jomar Ordona (Manaoag) and Aldrin Serafica (Manaoag). (Jesus Garcia, Jr. with report from PIO)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments