158 school teams participate in 2017 DCAA Tournaments

THE 2017 Dagupan City Athletic Association (DCAA) Basketball and Volleyball Tournaments among public and private schools in elementary and secondary divisions officially opened in a ceremony held at CSI Stadia on August 24.

DCAA acting president Renato T. Benitez said 88 volleyball teams, 44 in elementary and 44 in secondary; and 70 teams in basketball, 29 in elementary and 41 in secondary are vying for the championship crowns.

Also dubbed as the 2017 Mayor Belen T. Fernandez Cup, the tournament is being supported by the city government through the Dagupan City Sports Commission (DCSC) headed by Commissioner Finnela T. Sim.

Schools Division Superintendent Lorna G. Bugayong and Sim, who represented Mayor Fernandez during the ceremony, tossed the ceremonial ball.

Schools Division Superintendent Bugayong (left, center) and Dagupan City Sports Commission (DCSC) Commissioner Sim (right, center) make the ceremonial toss to officially open the 2017 Mayor Belen T. Fernandez Cup-Dagupan City Athletic Association (DCAA) Basketball and Volleyball Tournament (CIO photo by Jojo Tamayo)

As a token from the mayor, each participating team received free basketball and volleyball balls during the opening ceremony.

In the same ceremony, the winners in the 1st DepEd Employees Summer Sports Tournament 2017 were also awarded their championship trophies.

Declared champion in men’s basketball category was District III with JJDVST-VSS as 1st runner up and the Schools Division Office team as 2nd runner up.

In women’s volleyball, Carael-Salapingao National High School was champion. Runner-up was District I, and District II was second runner up.

The winners in men’s volleyball men were JJDVST-VSS as champion, Dagupan City National High School as first runner up and District IV as second runner up. (CIO/JCB)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments