Binmaley, Manaoag feted, get sports equipment


LINGAYEN—Team Binmaley finally received the coveted the championship trophy for the 1st Governor Cup Inter-town Basketball Tournament and the P200,000 cash prize after trouncing Team Manaoag who in turn received the runner-up trophy and P100,000 during the awards ceremony on April 29 at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center.

Gov. Amado Espino III and Vice Governor Jose Ferdinand Calimlim handed the trophies and cash awards to both teams.

Their respective municipal governments also received brand new sports equipment not only for their basketball teams but also for their other athletes in other sports.

Binmaley will receive P500,000 worth of sports equipment while Manaoag will get P400,000 worth.

Urdaneta, the 2nd runner-up, will also receive P300,000 worth of equipment while third runner up Alaminos City will get P200,000 worth of equipment.

All the other LGUs whose teams competed in the tournament will receive P50,000 worth of sports equipment.

Espino said the sports equipment are being provided to encourage the municipal governments to continue developing talents in their respective areas, to excel not only in basketball but also in other sports.

The 2nd Governor’s Cup Inter-town Basketball Tournament will kick off in mid- November this year.

Meanwhile, chosen members of the mythical 5 of the tournament are Manny Santos (Manaoag), point guard; Roxar Melendez (Binmaley), off guard; Christian Paul Cruz (Binmaley), center; Elegio Agloro Jr. (Alaminos City), power forward and Ismael Sarmiento (Urdaneta City), forward.

Melendez of Binmaley was voted ‘MVP’ (most valuable player) of the tournament.

Also awarded were the conference winners led by Lingayen (Western Conference), Binmaley (Central Conference), Manaoag, (Northern Conference), and Asingan (Eastern Conference).

The winners in three-point shootout and slam-dunk contest were Laurence Batalla  (Urdaneta City) and Denver Suratos (Sta. Barbara) respectively, also received their prizes. (Leonardo Micua)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments