Manaoag takes Game 1, subdues Binmaley, 97-93


LINGAYEN -Team Manaoag has taken the momentum to win the championship after defeating Team Binmaley, 97-93, in the best of three games of the 1st Governor’s Cup Inter-Town Basketball Tournament held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) gymnasium on April 8.

Binmaley cagers immediately took control of the board led by its star players notably the Melendez brothers Mark (#15) and Roxar (#21), taking an early lead 6-1 with 7 minutes and 30 seconds time left in the first quarter.

Manaoag’s key players Manny Santos (#2) and Adrian Barrozo (#23) led the team’s slow but sure offensive turning the score in their favor, 17-16, with two minutes and 43 seconds time left in the first canto.

With two minutes left, both teams locked in two deadlocks, 19-19 and 21-21.

With 49 seconds left in the 1st quarter, Binmaley scored a two-point basket to bring in another deadlock, 23-23. But Manaoag’s game plan sustained the team ending the 1st quarter with a two-point lead, 27-25.

Binmaley came back strong in the 2nd quarter and nailed a 7-point advantage in the end, 47-40. The 3rd quarter escalated to a fierce fight as both teams were determined to win. Final score saw Manaoag team up by two, 72-70.

In the final quarter, the power plays of Manaoag cagers took over with five minutes 42 seconds time left and sustained the lead with 3-point shot by Santos at two minutes and 17 seconds left, 93-87, and another three-pointer from Barrozo in the last two minutes, 96-89 limiting the numbers of the Melendez brothers who started to lose steam.

Manaoag ended the game with a 4-point lead to haul its first win, one-win shy to get the championship crown.

Meanwhile, Urdaneta City team defeated Alaminos City team in the battle for 3rd and fourth place. Final score ended, 93-84.

In between the two games, the final 3-point shootout and a slam-dunk competition were held. Winners for the 3-point shootout were: Lorence A Batalla (Urdaneta City), Champion/ 3-Point King; Chuck Barcelona (Urdaneta City), 1st runner-up; Ricardo Vergara (Lingayen), 2nd runner-up.

In the slam dunk competition, four cagers from different teams exhibited their moves. Final standing: Denver Suratos (Sta. Barbara), Rank 1; Renard Ballesteros (Calasiao), Rank 2; Ismael Sarmiento (Urdaneta City), Rank 3; Justine S. Bernardino (Lingayen), Rank 4.

The second game for the battle for championship will be on April 22 still at NRSCC.

The games will be covered via live streaming through Facebook page of Pangasinan ( and at USATV Cable TV (Community Channel #6) for live telecast. (PIO/RRB)

Share your Comments or Reactions


Powered by Facebook Comments